PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Slow PC

jb2012
January 13th, 2013, 04:07 PM
Hi, I'm new to the Ubuntu OS and have installed the latest Ubuntu onto an old PC. Ubuntu loads OK however using the included programs and the Ubuntu programs are painfully slow in opening and closing.

The specification of the PC is as follows.

Ascer Aspire T-135-S870
AMD Semperon 64 3000 + FSB 800 Mz
80Gb HDD
DDR Ram 2Mb

I would like to know why I have this problem please and how to resolve the problem.

sudodus
January 13th, 2013, 04:39 PM
Welcome to the Ubuntu Forums :-)

The new standard (or 'vanilla') Ubuntu is made for rather new and powerful computers. The desktop environment Unity has a lot of eye-candy, but needs a lot of CPU horsepower and also RAM and a good graphics card. By the way, what graphics card/chip is there in the computer?

But there are good alternatives in the Ubuntu family.

Xubuntu has the light-weight desktop environment XFCE, and will probably run very well on your computer.

Lubuntu has the ultra light-weight desktop environment LXDE, and will run even faster on your computer, but of course, there is less eye-candy.

Download the iso files and try these flavours of Ubuntu live before deciding what to install.

cmcanulty
January 13th, 2013, 07:12 PM
or install ubuntu and then install gnome-panel and get the classic interface works for me with GB ram
http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2012/03/gnome-classic-in-ubuntu-12-04-its-like-nothing-ever-changed

Cheesemill
January 13th, 2013, 10:48 PM
How much RAM does that machine have?

cmcanulty
January 14th, 2013, 12:07 AM
sorry I meant to type 1GB ram and it runs fine in Ubuntu classic, no effects 12.04 2GB would be a lot faster and set up 2-4 GB of swap

jb2012
January 14th, 2013, 09:07 AM
How much RAM does that machine have?

2Gb as stated in my first post.

deadflowr
January 14th, 2013, 09:23 AM
Yeah, Ubuntu can be slower on older machines.