PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't boot from USB

xXToYeDXx
January 10th, 2013, 06:00 PM
I've searched for the last 12 or so hours trying to find a solution to my problem, but I can't find anything that fits my issue. Some have been close, but not close enough.

I'll try to be as detailed as possible with my issue. I'm fairly new to linux but I have installed and used it before. Just the basics but I have used it.

First, my system specs:

Chassis: Silverstone RV03 Raven 3
Mobo: Asus Rampage 3 Black
CPU: i7 960 OC to 4GHz Stable
CPU Cooling: Corsair H80
RAM: 6GB Mushkin Enhanced DDR3-2000 CL7
Sound card: Asus Xonar Xense
GPU: 2x Asus ENGTX580 DCII in SLI
PSU: Enermax SGalaxy EVO 1250W
SSD: Corsair Force 3 240GB
HDD: Western Digital 750GB for storage

I know it's overkill for Ubuntu but this rig was built for gaming and hence it's been running Windows primarily.

But with the release of Steam for Linux I finally have a reason to abandon winblows for good and go linux exclusively. Well, almost exclusively. I want to dual boot Llnux and Win7, with Ubuntu as my primary OS, and Win7 as a secondary on a 30 or 40 gig partition, just for Counterstrike Global Offensive and the SDK if running those in Wine present unmanageable issues. I can't have hitching or FPS drop in a competitive match.

Now on to the issues I'm having when trying to install.

When installing from USB (tried with 12.04, 32bit and 64bit, and Linux Mint Cinnamon 64bit):

Note: I've used Unetbootin, Universal USB Installer and LiLi. They all produce the same results. I've also tried 2 different USB sticks. 1 is a 16GB PNY formatted to Fat32. The other is a 2GB PC (President's Choice cheapo) formatted to Fat32.

What happens:

1) USB boots into loader
2) USB auto boots into default loader option
3) Black screen with blinking cursor for a few seconds
4) Verbose screen that scrolls really fast.
5) Purple Ubuntu splash screen with red and white dots.
6) Black screen with mouse cursor active.