PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] problem with Atheros wireless



MadsRC
January 8th, 2013, 11:52 AM
I have an old, OLD!, Fujitsu Siemens Amilo 1720 that works fairly well with Xubuntu 12.10 out-of-the-box.

Problem is that the wireless sometimes goes crazy...

It will tell me that there's a hardware block (From RFKill), even though the laptop doesn't have a switch for it.

The solution is, wierd as it is, to do this:

sudo vi /etc/modprobe.d/blacklists.conf
add "blacklist acer-wmi"
reboot

Then it works, but every once in a while it stops working, and I have will have to remove the blacklist entry from above, reboot, add blacklist again and then reboot again.

This is lshw's info about the netcard:

-pci:1
description: PCI bridge
product: RS480 PCI Bridge
vendor: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI
physical id: 4
bus info: pci@0000:00:04.0
version: 00
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pci pm pciexpress msi ht normal_decode bus_master cap
_list
configuration: driver=pcieport
resources: irq:40 memory:c0100000-c01fffff
*-network
description: Wireless interface
product: AR242x / AR542x Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express)
vendor: Atheros Communications Inc.
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0
logical name: wlan0
version: 01
serial: 00:c0:a8:c8:b0:e6
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress msix bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=ath5k driverversion=3.5.0-21-generic firmware=N/A ip=10.128.83.234 latency=0 link=yes multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11bg
resources: irq:16 memory:c0100000-c010ffff


The driver I'm using is ath5k.

rfkill list gives me:

0: phy0: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no

When it stops working, it adds "acer-wireless" to rfkill?

This is the eaxct problem, from which I found solution to reinsert the blacklist once it goes crazy: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/864456

Does anybody have an idea for a permanent solution?

Us3r Unfriendly
January 8th, 2013, 12:08 PM
What's the output of: lsmod

MadsRC
January 8th, 2013, 01:57 PM
The output is:

Module Size Used by
ip6table_filter 12711 0
ip6_tables 17969 1 ip6table_filter
iptable_filter 12706 0
ip_tables 17791 1 iptable_filter
x_tables 21898 4 ip6table_filter,ip6_tables,iptable_filter,ip_table s
arc4 12473 2
coretemp 13168 0
joydev 17161 0
snd_hda_codec_si3054 12864 1
snd_hda_codec_realtek 63493 1
snd_hda_intel 32515 4
snd_hda_codec 111547 3 snd_hda_codec_si3054,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda _intel
snd_hwdep 13272 1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm 80163 3 snd_hda_codec_si3054,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_seq_midi 13132 0
snd_rawmidi 25382 1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event 14475 1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq 51255 2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
microcode 18209 0
snd_timer 24411 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device 14137 3 snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
r852 17905 0
sm_common 16737 1 r852
nand 49496 2 r852,sm_common
r592 17707 0
ath5k 135205 0
nand_ids 8547 1 nand
mtd 38602 2 sm_common,nand
nand_bch 13003 1 nand
bch 17199 1 nand_bch
snd 61991 18 snd_hda_codec_si3054,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda _intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_rawmidi ,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
psmouse 84843 0
ath 19187 1 ath5k
memstick 15842 1 r592
nand_ecc 13070 1 nand
mac80211 461161 1 ath5k
soundcore 14599 1 snd
serio_raw 13031 0
snd_page_alloc 14036 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
i2c_piix4 12983 0
cfg80211 175375 3 ath5k,ath,mac80211
rfcomm 37276 4
bnep 17707 2
parport_pc 31968 0
bluetooth 183228 10 rfcomm,bnep
ppdev 12817 0
binfmt_misc 17260 1
ext2 67204 1
mac_hid 13037 0
shpchp 32189 0
lp 13299 0
parport 40753 3 parport_pc,ppdev,lp
xts 12723 1
gf128mul 14503 1 xts
dm_crypt 22402 1
firewire_ohci 35521 0
radeon 820734 2
sdhci_pci 18155 0
sdhci 27830 1 sdhci_pci
ttm 75534 1 radeon
drm_kms_helper 47303 1 radeon
drm 238768 4 radeon,ttm,drm_kms_helper
8139too 23071 0
8139cp 26619 0
firewire_core 57492 1 firewire_ohci
crc_itu_t 12627 1 firewire_core
pata_atiixp 12999 2
video 18847 0
i2c_algo_bit 13197 1 radeon
wmi 18590 0
ati_agp 13177 0

Us3r Unfriendly
January 8th, 2013, 03:04 PM
What card are you using?

MadsRC
January 10th, 2013, 09:25 AM
I'm using an AR242x / AR542x Wireless Network Adapter as stated by "lshw". I don't know if it is the AR242x or AR542x adapter though...

The problem persist, lately it's been more frequent.

Right now my rfkill list looks like:

0: phy0: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: yes

Here's my ifconfig (as of right now)

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
inet addr:10.129.52.93 Bcast:10.129.53.255 Mask:255.255.254.0
inet6 addr: fe80::20a:e4ff:febd:4395/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:17420 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:9109 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:8090660 (8.0 MB) TX bytes:1520964 (1.5 MB)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:7700 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:7700 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:636004 (636.0 KB) TX bytes:636004 (636.0 KB)
Notice that wlan0 is missing...

Here's my iwconfig (as of right now):

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:off/any
Mode:Managed Access Point: Not-Associated Tx-Power=off
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:off

lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

Putting my wireless card in monitor mode shows:

wlan0 Atheros ath5k - [phy0]SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not possible due to RF-kill

(monitor mode enabled on mon0)


So phy0 is the interface, and I guess the reason that "Network Manager" cannont find any wireless networks is for the same reason that I cannot put said card in monitor mode. Due to rfkill...

and no, I have tried to disable the rfkill.

There is a physical button on the machine for wireless, which works under windows, but I've never gotten it to work under linux.