PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Will this hard drive work?

bigb0ss
January 8th, 2013, 06:53 AM
I have a Hard Drive question. Currently I am runnung Ubuntu 12.04.1 and would like to buy a portable external hard drive that will work with both my MAC and Linux based operating systems.

I had purchased this Hard Drive for both OS, but on my Linux it did not recognize:

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Western-Digital-My-Passport-for-Mac-1TB-Portable-Hard-Drive/21732257

Now, I am interesting in buying:
http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=21141706&findingMethod=rr

* If neither of these HD will work with both, which one can? Also, I am not that good with computers, I need one that will just "plug and play".

(Please Help)!!!!

Thanks

sudodus
January 8th, 2013, 08:11 AM
My experience is that hard disk drives are easy to recognize in linux. I think that the second one, which they claim should work with Windows as well as Mac should work also with Linux. I think it's a good idea to look for USB 3 capability as well as backward compatibility to USB 2.

For external purposes I usually buy internal sata disks and an external casing with suitable properties. I want USB and esata connection. For example IcyBox and Akasa make such casings.

tlhIngan
January 8th, 2013, 08:46 AM
I had purchased this Hard Drive for both OS, but on my Linux it did not recognize:

I find it odd that Linux wouldn't recognize it. Whenever I've had something weird happen to a hard drive, Linux would be the only thing that could guarantee seeing it and fixing it if it was at all possible.

Is Linux able to use that USB port for other things?
Did you ask Linux to mount the partition on the drive?

bigb0ss
January 8th, 2013, 04:51 PM
The chromebook in which i have has 3 USB ports, and it has recognized other thumbnails but not the Hard Drive.

sudodus
January 8th, 2013, 05:15 PM
The chromebook in which i have has 3 USB ports, and it has recognized other thumbnails but not the Hard Drive.