PDA

View Full Version : Quickly & Python : Where best to begin?

DanielWray
January 7th, 2013, 08:56 PM
Hello,

I'm new to Ubuntu development work. I'm hoping to use Quickly, and Python.

I have had previous experience at university with some ActionScript; simple game development, but enough to know some of the basics of coding (Functions, IF statements, Classes, &c.)

Anyway I am wondering if there is any specific wiki, or web-site of tutorials out there for this combination (An overview of API's, or how to use external libraries (like WebKit.) I have viewed an excellent tutorial on the Ubuntu Developers website, but apart from that I can't find anything specific to Quickly + Python.

I would like to start developing small applications to tie a visual effects pipeline together, but currently I am a little confused by all of the available languages, tools, and information that is being presented to me when searching for where to start.

For example do I just need to study standard Python (Which I am doing over at Code Academy,) or does Quickly (Glade?) come with some kind of API for integrating code with the UI elements?

Any kind of specific information in regards to the best place to build a solid foundation for this stuff would be most welcome, thank-you.

trent.josephsen
January 7th, 2013, 10:07 PM
I have had previous experience at university with some ActionScript; simple game development, but enough to know some of the basics of coding (Functions, IF statements, Classes, &c.)

Any time I hear something like "I have some programming experience" followed by a brief list of apparently random programming-related terms, I am forced to conclude that the speaker in fact knows next to nothing about programming, if anything at all. For instance. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=NuPolrd9yuo#t=95s)