PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] XUbuntu Installation Problem

wobbledog
January 2nd, 2013, 02:06 PM
Hi all.
I'm relatively new to the Ubuntu forums here, so please excuse my inexperience in this area.

I've been trying to install XUbuntu onto an older Pentium 4 era machine in order to create a home server.
While presented with the XUbuntu installation menu, I am told I cannot install XUbuntu as I do not have the required disk space for the installation. I know this to be untrue as I've just formatted both IDE drives I am using beforehand.

I was wondering if anyone could give me some help/advice?
Thanks in advance,

wobbledog

ibjsb4
January 2nd, 2013, 02:35 PM
First thing that comes to mind is do you have four primary partitions? If so, 4 is the limit.

ajgreeny
January 2nd, 2013, 03:12 PM
Give us a detailed list of what you are doing and what stage you get this error message.

What do you mean by "While presented with the XUbuntu installation menu"; what menu is this?

Are you using a live CD (or USB) to install?

wobbledog
January 3rd, 2013, 01:12 AM
First thing that comes to mind is do you have four primary partitions? If so, 4 is the limit.

In response to this, all I've done is formatted my two IDE drives using my Windows machine, I've formatted to the NTFS file system and I don't believe any partitions exist on the disk at the moment.

wobbledog
January 3rd, 2013, 01:23 AM
Give us a detailed list of what you are doing and what stage you get this error message.

What do you mean by "While presented with the XUbuntu installation menu"; what menu is this?

Are you using a live CD (or USB) to install?

Will do.