PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu/Win7/Win8 works with GRUB?

dorruk
January 1st, 2013, 04:37 PM
Hey guys, I currently am dual booting Windows 7 and 8 and would like to include Ubuntu to the family, installing it to a different partition.

I can just go ahead and do it but I have concerns only about the bootloader. I don't want Ubuntu to automatically add itself to the Windows bootloader because I may consider adding non-Windows operating systems in the future so I want GRUB or GRUB2 instead.

Thing is, how do I guarantee GRUB will definitely see my Windows and everything? What should be the precautions to take in order to prevent not being able to boot Windows 7 and 8? Whatif GRUB fails to read NTFS? That would be a huge problem to me because I'm new with Linux.

Thanks in advance.

darkod
January 1st, 2013, 05:18 PM
Grub2 boots windows just fine, and understands ntfs without problems.

What you should be careful about is whether you are using UEFI boot, or the older legacy/BIOS boot. If you are using UEFI, you have to install ubuntu in uefi mode too. In that case the uefi boot manager does the booting actually, not grub2.
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UEFI

If you have the older legacy boot, there should be no problems at all. But you might not see all three OSs in the menu. This is because windows combines the boot files when you have more than one version installed. If the boot files got combined during your windows installs, grub2 will report only one windows entry. Booting that entry will then open the windows bootloader which will have options for both windows OSs. So you will have to go through two menus to boot windows. But this is not limitation of grub2, it depends how windows was installed and that it combines its boot files.

dorruk
January 2nd, 2013, 05:05 PM
I have the option to enable/disable UEFI Boot in BIOS. Disabled by default. What do you recommend? Just go with legacy boot, or does UEFI have advantages?

Btw my PC is x64.

darkod