PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Will ubuntu work as a sole os?

bobipod
December 25th, 2012, 01:58 PM
I've bought my son a laptop for christmas and want to know if i can install ubuntu to work as his sole o/s.

The machine is

Dell N5050
Processor: Intel celeron
CPU B815 1.60 GHz
6.0gb ram

System type: 64 bit operating system (assuming this is the current windows install) windows 7.

darkod
December 25th, 2012, 02:22 PM
Yes, it should work as single OS unless there are some issues with the hardware of the exact machine. But that happens very rarely.

In general, any OS can work as single OS. There is no requerement to dual boot.

grahammechanical
December 25th, 2012, 02:40 PM
I have been using Ubuntu as the only OS on my machine for 5 years. Is there anything that your son would do with this machine that he cannot do with Ubuntu? That is the question to answer.

I have a Windows application that is not distributed as a Linux application. But I can run this application using something called wine.

http://www.winehq.org/

It fools the Windows application into thinking that it is running on Windows. Wine works well with some Windows applications but not with all Windows applications.

Regards.

snowpine
December 25th, 2012, 02:42 PM
I would leave the Windows 7 that you paid on there and dual boot. Your son may wish to install some Windows applications/games at some point (or may be required to do so for school). A dual boot will give him the most options and make his gift that much more wonderful. :)

OrangeCrate
December 25th, 2012, 03:16 PM
^, Agreed.

@OP, if you need some guidelines/instructions on how to dual boot, you can find them here:

http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Ubuntu_Quantal_Installation

whatthefunk
December 25th, 2012, 03:22 PM
Yeah, Id dual boot for him, at least until he figures out what he wants to do with it. If he wants to play games, Windows will serve him better. Also, he may need Windows specific applications for school.

Frogs Hair