PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] The disk drive for / is not ready yet or not present

JoJ9
December 22nd, 2012, 09:46 PM
Hi guys! I'm a newbie with this ubuntu stuff, so any help is much appreciated.

I have an inspiron mini from dell using ubuntu. It was given to students at my school. I've had it for a few years now. I recently tried upgrading the computer using software update and as far as I can tell everything went fine. The computer rebooted and it said "The disk drive for / is not ready yet or not present " and underneath it says "continue to wait; or press S to skip mounting or M for manual recovery". I waited overnight and nothing happened. Clicking S doesn't seem to do anything and I have no idea what M wants me to do (I know the root password). Any advice?

I tried looking online for help, but I couldn't seem to follow what everyone was saying. I'm sorry if this is another repeat post, but thanks in advance!

Bashing-om
December 23rd, 2012, 04:08 AM
JoJ9; Hi ! Welcome to the forum.

Due to your difficulties, lets try a simpler approach,
1. Boot up your system from cold start, when the bios screen clears press and hold the shift key -> grub menu.
2. In this grub menu, choose the "recovery mode" to boot.
3. Options menu -> choose fsck.
This will run the file system check and repair it if possible.

Post back with results.

just try'n to help < == BDQ

JoJ9
December 23rd, 2012, 05:32 AM
Thanks for trying to help me! I tried pressing shift and it took me to a screen that says "GNU GRUB version 1.98-1ubuntu12". There are three "recovery modes" to chose from amongst others, and I tried all three. All of them take me to a black screen with white letters on it. The last thing it always says is "the disk drive...not present" all over again.

I forgot to say that if need be, there is a tech desk I can go to, but it's currently closed for the holidays. Would them re-imaging the computer fix it? I've been told that that's the main solution for most problems.