PDA

View Full Version : BASH script to echo $RANDOM into all files of directory

HypervisedEd
December 19th, 2012, 09:22 AM
Hey guys,
First I apologize if this is in the wrong section, I am new to the ubuntuforums but I do believe this can go here. I am trying to write a script that echos a random number into each file of a directory.

This script does work well for me, however the issue I'm having an issue whereas when the script has completed and I list all the files of the directory it was performed on I notice that a new file name appears: $filename

Clearly $filename is a by-product of this script. What makes this even more bizarre is that I did not have this issue with this script until this week. I did have to re-install Ubuntu on the remote machine I am running this on (for other reasons) & I had copied the script into the new install from my local machine so I do know that the script itself is untouched, however I'm wondering if something went wrong my bash alias of alias: hashchanger='bash /etc/hashchanger.sh'

The permissions of /etc/hashchanger.sh are
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root

I am running this script as both root as well as a user that is not part of the root group. Here is the script itself:

#! /bin/bash
# Echos a random number into all files of a directory except for the script itself to change the checksum of the files.

for filename in *
do
if [ '$filename' != '$0' ]
then
echo '$RANDOM' >> '$filename'
fi
done

HypervisedEd
December 19th, 2012, 10:43 AM
Resolved! The end result was that I needed to remove the single quote marks around $filename as such:

#! /bin/bash
# Echos a random number into all files of a directory except for the script itself to change the checksum of the files.

for filename in *
do
then
echo '$RANDOM' >> $filename
fi
done

ofnuts
December 19th, 2012, 12:32 PM
Resolved! The end result was that I needed to remove the single quote marks around $filename as such:

#! /bin/bash

for filename in *
do
then
fi
done