PDA

View Full Version : Cannot connect via ethernet - Broadcom

schmaven
December 15th, 2012, 08:52 PM
I am new to Ubuntu, but familiar with computers. Have always wanted to use linux instead of Windows. Just got a used laptop (Dell Latitude D610) with Ubuntu 11.10 already installed.

I am unable to connect to the internet at all, either wired directly to the router, or wirelessly. I really just want the wired connection to work, then I can figure out the rest more easily. Currently plugged directly into the router.

NetXtreme BCM5751 Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express

I see some grayed out options:
Wired Network
device not managed
Wireless Networks
device not ready (firmware missing)

It looks like installing the right firmware would solve the problem. I have found commands that will get an Ubuntu machine to download the right firmware - but can't seem to find where to get it with windows.

Right now, I have a second computer to access the web and can transfer files via CDRW.

What do I have to do to connect successfully using an ethernet connection directly to the router?

sandyd
December 15th, 2012, 09:20 PM
I am new to Ubuntu, but familiar with computers. Have always wanted to use linux instead of Windows. Just got a used laptop (Dell Latitude D610) with Ubuntu 11.10 already installed.

I am unable to connect to the internet at all, either wired directly to the router, or wirelessly. I really just want the wired connection to work, then I can figure out the rest more easily. Currently plugged directly into the router.

NetXtreme BCM5751 Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express

I see some grayed out options:
Wired Network
device not managed
Wireless Networks
device not ready (firmware missing)

It looks like installing the right firmware would solve the problem. I have found commands that will get an Ubuntu machine to download the right firmware - but can't seem to find where to get it with windows.