PDA

View Full Version : Which file system?

rabot
December 10th, 2012, 02:16 PM
I'm brand new to Ubuntu and have read the installation notes but they haven't really answered my issue.
On my old PC, I used to have a hard drive with 2 partitions, one running Windows and one storing all my data.

I've now got a new PC and would like to have a similar set-up while running Ubuntu instead of Windows, i.e. 1 partition for the OS and one for all my data.

However, I most likely will be running Windows on this new PC at some point in the future, so Windows will need to be able to read and write all data in the second partition. So that means formating it as NTFS.

What file system should I use for the partition that will run Ubuntu then? Should it be ext4 or NTFS too? I've read a lot of conflicting advice on this.

My new PC runs an Intel i7 processor. I'm not into gaming at all but want a fast PC like everyone. I'll be watching movies online mostly. Is Lubuntu much faster than Ubuntu? Which one is 'easier' for a total newbie?

haqking
December 10th, 2012, 02:18 PM
I'm brand new to Ubuntu and have read the installation notes but they haven't really answered my issue.
On my old PC, I used to have a hard drive with 2 partitions, one running Windows and one storing all my data.

I've now got a new PC and would like to have a similar set-up while running Ubuntu instead of Windows, i.e. 1 partition for the OS and one for all my data.

However, I most likely will be running Windows on this new PC at some point in the future, so Windows will need to be able to read and write all data in the second partition. So that means formating it as NTFS.

What file system should I use for the partition that will run Ubuntu then? Should it be ext4 or NTFS too? I've read a lot of conflicting advice on this.