PDA

View Full Version : Convincing my mother.

Nagantman
December 10th, 2012, 03:07 AM
Assumed this was the right category since i'm fairly new to Linux and my mom is completely new. Heres the deal I just dual booted my old Dell Dimension 2400 with Ubuntu 12.04. The other operating system on the computer is Windows XP. I love Ubuntu it runs faster and better on the old desktop. I'm also beginning to learn how to program using c++. But my Mom has been giving me flak because when she wants to use the computer she wants to use XP. She knows pretty much nothing about computers and has tried Ubuntu. I explain to her how the computer runs much faster using Ubuntu than Windows XP. Her main excuse for not wanting to use Ubuntu is, she likes her current setup and she is use to it. I don't understand since she only uses a web browser xD (which also runs faster on Ubuntu). Any ideas to convince?

CharlesA
December 10th, 2012, 03:11 AM
Easy: Don't bother. Just dual boot and leave it be.

Forcing someone to use something different leads to problems and unless you are willing to offer support for anything and everything, it is better to let them use what they know.

SparkyPrawn
December 10th, 2012, 03:14 AM
Remove Windows XP completely!
Just kidding.

Honestly, people are resistant to change and like things the way they have used them, which is often the way they feel comfortable with. You can't really argue against that, and if she has used Ubuntu and dislikes it, then she dislikes it.

You could explain your reasons behind using it, but in the end, its her choice. Don't cause a rift in your family.

monkeybrain2012
December 10th, 2012, 03:18 AM
Well put something that looks like Windows XP in there such as Linux Mint or Lubuntu with a Windows wall paper she wouldn't know the difference. :)

Nagantman
December 10th, 2012, 03:21 AM