PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Failed windows installer version

cocodamol
December 5th, 2012, 02:49 AM
Hi guys, having had enough of windows Ive decided to join the Linux crew.

This is my first time with Linux so please be gentle with me!

Ok, Ive downloaded the Ubuntu 12.10 windows installer.
Installed > restarted > select ubuntu > black error screen

http://s8.postimage.org/6e4r7rymt/photo_20.jpg

My current set up was/is Windows 7 64
True crypt harddrive encryption upon boot.

As you can see I haven't got very far, could someone please advise what my next step is. Ive tried downloading and re installing again but the same problem happens.

Thanks in advance.

mikewhatever
December 5th, 2012, 04:14 AM
Don't think you can use the Windows installer with disk encryption, sorry.

Mark Phelps
December 5th, 2012, 03:04 PM
The Windows Installer version (known as Wubi) is NOT giving up on windows; on the contrary, it is keeping you DEPENDENT on Windows because it relies on the Windows boot loader to launch the selection menu.

If you really want to get rid of Windows you need to wipe the drive of the OS partitions.

cocodamol
December 6th, 2012, 05:11 PM
The idea really was to leave windows as a worst case backup in case I need to run windows only software for business. I suppose I could always just have a separate HD for each OS as its only a laptop to plug and play when windows might be needed. Wont be able to go without encryption as its for business.

Is it possible I could > remove truecrypt > run wubi installer again > then truecrypt the entire disk or do you think its going to causes issues again by having dual boot. But thinking about it Ive probably answered my own question better to have a clean single version of Linux on its own HD hey?

thank you

Carlefot
December 6th, 2012, 05:38 PM
I have the same problem. My machine also runs Win 7 64, but no encryption is switched on.

black veils
December 6th, 2012, 05:45 PM