PDA

View Full Version : Help with automating tasks in Ubuntu

DirWhowhowho
December 3rd, 2012, 05:54 PM
Hello,

I am totally new to Ubuntu and Linux. I do programming in windows so I think I've got a pretty good foundation to start learning. I am however totally stuck on where to begin with what I want to do:

I would like to auto-start smartctl then badblocks after boot up for 6 hard drives.

I was thinking there would be some easier way to do this by editing the ttyx.conf files, getting all of them to run, but it seems that happens before I need it to.

Then I was thinking rc.local file, but don't know how to run on each tty (1-6).

Then I was thinking Upstart would be the way because it is non synchronous and won't wait for one thing to finish before beginning another. But that's scary because scripting in Ubuntu seems hard.

Or maybe there's another way I haven't discovered?

Really, I just don't know what the best solve for this would be or even where to start. Any idea?

Thanks!

Cheesehead
December 3rd, 2012, 08:43 PM
Scripting in Ubuntu is really easy. You already know most of it.

I think Upstart is indeed a good place to start, so you can start those tasks exactly where you want them during/after boot.

Alternately, you can script them into a udev rule, so a task will run every time the disk is newly detected (powerup, swap, etc.)

Have you taken a look at the Smartmontools wiki page? https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Smartmontools Some good tips there, too.

Lars Noodén
December 3rd, 2012, 09:45 PM
upstart (http://upstart.ubuntu.com/cookbook/) requires a little reading to get oriented with, but not much. After that it is basic shell scripting just like you find elsewhere in the system.

d.atanasov
December 3rd, 2012, 09:52 PM
Hi,
What about "cron" jobs. It can do a lot of stuff and is pretty easy. The hard thing will be the scripts which you have to create for powering up the HD.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cron
cheers

SeijiSensei