PDA

View Full Version : Server 12.04.1 install fails after "Loading additional components" message

jfj33
December 2nd, 2012, 12:00 PM
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Linux, but comfortable with partitioning and installing onto a multi-boot system. I'm having a bit of trouble installing Ubuntu Server 12.04.1 LTS onto my desktop box, for testing purposes.

The installation seems to hang after showing the "Loading additional components" message, or in expert mode after a message that reads something like "Detecting network hardware (or similar). I see a blank purple screen, with a light grey line at the bottom, I'm able to type into this area, but nothing I type seems to have any effect.

My initial attempts were using the standard installer, but I've tried expert mode, and selecting each of the other F6 options (including 'nomodeset'), all with the same result. One of the many search results I found on my quest to fix this: http://askubuntu.com/questions/53257/why-do-i-get-a-purple-screen-whilst-installing-ubuntu-server-11-04 - didn't work in my case...

I used the installer to check that the CD was ok - no problems there. The same disk also installs Ubuntu Server onto my laptop just fine. I've been able to install various flavours of Ubuntu and other distros onto the desktop without any problems, but usually from live CD/DVDs - Ubuntu Studio, Linux Mint, Manjaro, Mageia, CentOS and Fedora all install ok.

However, I did have exactly the same result using the Xubuntu 12.04 minimal installer, and the Debian 6.0.5 Live CD installer came up with an error at the Network Adapters stage of the installation, "missing firmware: tigon/tg3_tso5.bin". However, the Debian Live CD installer did still complete, and the installation is bootable.