PDA

View Full Version : Good C++ editor for beginners

cheatos
November 29th, 2012, 10:25 PM
Hi all,

I have to write a C++ program which does a FFT on some data input and I am unsure which editor will be best for me. As I am a physicist, a simple editor would completely satisfy my needs. However I downloaded vim and it was horrible, I didn't even get it to compile some example code...
I was thinking about eclipse but as far as I know eclipse is an editor for java. Will it also understand C++? And are there some editors with some sort of syntax highlighting or however you call that in C++?

Thanks for any help!

mevun
November 29th, 2012, 10:39 PM
I've never used gedit for programming, but it is built-in to Ubuntu and is supposed to be friendly since it is GUI-based. It probably understands C++ syntax, but I'm not sure.

As for Eclipse, it can understand C++. Might be overkill, if you aren't really going to set up a whole 'project'. The download for Eclipse is several hundred megabytes.

As for FFT, I think you should look for a library that does that already or some source code. You shouldn't really need to re-write it from scratch.

MG&TL
November 29th, 2012, 10:47 PM
Hi all,
I have to write a C++ program which does a FFT on some data input and I am unsure which editor will be best for me. As I am a physicist, a simple editor would completely satisfy my needs. However I downloaded vim and it was horrible, I didn't even get it to compile some example code...
I was thinking about eclipse but as far as I know eclipse is an editor for java. Will it also understand C++? And are there some editors with some sort of syntax highlighting or however you call that in C++?

Thanks for any help!

vim is an advanced editor for those who do a lot of text editing. Incidentally, it won't compile anything, it's just an editor. Worth learning if you ever have to do a lot of editing.