PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] A little suggestion Build-essential

David Singer
November 27th, 2012, 01:59 PM
I am not new to computing but I am new to ubuntu Linux.

For many days I have been wrestling with upgrading my ASUS 901 from Win XP to Ubuntu 12.10.

Its not been easy, I need to install driver for my Turkcell VINN Modem to be able to get the thing on-line.

read lots of threads and tried lots of suggestions but the VINN remains out of the loop, driver is loaded says the OS but its not talking to the modem . . . .

I need Build-Essentials (I think) to enable me to do this or at least run WINE so I can access the VINN and run the window driver - maybe. BUT build-essentials might as well be on another planet, this key item is missing.

Wouldn't it be nice if Build essential was loaded by default when installing the OS?

As it is I have a bootable USB of the 12.10 operating system but no sign of build-essentials.

Yes I downloaded the WINE 1.5.11 .bz2 file but I cant use it, a serious omission in my opinion.

does anyone have a solution?:)

mlentink
November 27th, 2012, 02:07 PM
Go to Ubuntu Software Center, type "wine" in the searchbox, click on it and have fun

You can also type 'build-essentials' in that same searchbox.

David Singer
November 27th, 2012, 03:06 PM
Go to Ubuntu Software Center, type "wine" in the searchbox, click on it and have fun

You can also type 'build-essentials' in that same searchbox.

Yes did that

in both cases the system reports "no items match"

QIII
November 27th, 2012, 03:16 PM
It's

build-essential
not
build-essentials

In the terminal, do

sudo apt-get install build-essential

It is not included by default because it is not something most people need by default.

David Singer
November 27th, 2012, 07:01 PM
yes its Build-essential I did notice that - see thread title

sudo apt-get install build-essential

reports errors: invalid operation

yes I am running it from root, in fact I've run it from everywhere I can get.