PDA

View Full Version : Apache2 Main Server Document Root Location

BAWBCEN1TY
November 26th, 2012, 07:09 PM
I am new to Linux/Ubuntu and was messing around with setting up Apache2 on Ubuntu 12.10. I had made a mistake writing down my IP address, and therefore, entered this incorrect address into the config files.

#/etc/apache2/ports.conf

NameVirtualHost 192.168.1.22:80

Listen 80

#/etc/apache2/sites-available/default

<VirtualHost 192.168.1.22:80>

ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost

DocumentRoot /var/www/mysite (this exists)
</VirtualHost>

#/etc/apache2/sites-available/www.mysite.com

<VirtualHost 192.168.1.22.:80>

ServerName www.mysite.com

DocumentRoot /var/www/mysite
</VirtualHost>

Due to this IP being wrong, neither of the Virtual Hosts is triggered, but from what I understand, in a case like this Apache uses the settings of the Main Server (it loaded /var/www/index.html).

I do have this working now. And I also understand that a _default_ can be used to catch any unresolved requests. I am really just wondering how Apache deals with requests when no Virtual Host is triggered, and no _default_ is set.

So my question is, where is the Main Server Document Root set? I thought it was set in /etc/apache2/sites-available/default but since /var/www is used instead of /var/www/mysite it doesn't appear that way.

SeijiSensei
November 26th, 2012, 08:07 PM
The sites-available directory contains the virtual host configurations that are "available". The parallel "sites-enabled" directory includes symbolic links to the files that are active. Only configurations that are linked in sites-enabled are actively supported by the server.

By the way, do you have control over the IP addressing scheme? Why not just change the server's IP to match the entries in the VHost configurations?

Also the default typically is to use

NameVirtualHost *:80