PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Disable wireless activity LED for 12.10

bdrieck
November 26th, 2012, 12:19 AM
Brand new to Ubunto. installed it on a dead windows laptop and brought it back to life. I love Ubunto!! I have NO experience in Ubunto or the terminal. I'm not afraid to try and learn. the led that shows my wireless adapter is turned on blinks with internet activity. prior to this the light would stay solid blue when on and now it blinks. It is annoying to me. I've searched and found countless threads about this issue but with the older versions of Ubunto 12.04 and prior. My wireless adapter is: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network Connection (rev 02)

again as I am as new to this as anyone can get if somone could walk me through trying to fix this I would greatly appreciate it.

thank you !!

chili555
November 26th, 2012, 12:38 AM
We are going to try a conf file and see if it helps. Please do:
sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/iwlegacy.confA new empty file will open. Add one line:
options iwlegacy led_mode=1Proofread, save and close gedit. Now, let's try it immediately:
sudo modprobe -r iwl3945
sudo modprobe iwlegacy led_mode=1
sudo modprobe iwl3945Any improvement?

bdrieck
November 27th, 2012, 02:14 AM
Thank you Chili! seems to have worked. in laymans terms can you describe what I did by typing the first code and opening up the file and entering the 1 line? then what happed when I entered the next 3 codes in? after entering the first 2 codes:

sudo modprobe -r iwl3945
sudo modprobe iwlegacy led_mode=1

I got messages warning messages about ignroing lines and options.I don't expect you to teach me Ubunto/linux in this thread. Just curious as to how this works?

thanks again for your help.

chili555
November 27th, 2012, 03:14 AM