PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation Woes

Haalden
November 24th, 2012, 07:53 AM
I'm completely new to Ubuntu, I've owned it for basically a single day and after 15 hours (Not an exaggeration) of tinkering with it, trying as hard as I could to troubleshoot my problems, I've decided I just can't stand using Ubuntu if everything is always breaking.

I made the switch from Windows simply because I was led to believe with a few "simple to install" programs I could play the few games I actually play on a Linux, Skype already has Linux support, my drivers would work fine, and "Wine" would hopefully allow me to use the few Windows-only applications I use on a daily basis.

This was a filthy lie.

As soon as I'm booted up I log on, look around at the flashy GUI and set up my audio drivers, and then... my monitor flashes off and everything goes down, queue Problem #1, nVidia video drivers were a pain to download.

After about a full hour of Googling it and typing my first few "sudo" "apt-get" "repository" and all the other terminal commands I've learned in my short time, I finally get GeForce drivers installed and working, hooray! Surely if I could get my drivers installed, Skype, Wine, and the rest would be cake, right?

Dead wrong.

I haven't been using this new computer for more than 2 hours at this point, I go into Software Center and search Skype, easy enough I think, Linux sure is noob-frie.... oh, whats this...? Package dependencies cannot be resolved... huh... oh well, maybe if I google Skype Linux and, oh, there it is! A Skype download specifically for Ubuntu on the Skype download page, lets just click thi-... Wrong Architecture 'i386'...?
Well maybe I can just find the terminal commands to install Skype, lets see.. add a repository, check, sudo apt-get andd.... broken packages.
How can not a single method work for the first program I try to use.