PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] switch installation from 32 to 64 bit

mmcl26554
November 22nd, 2012, 05:56 AM
I am truly an absolute beginner, but learning!
When I installed Ubuntu 12.10, I didn't pay attention to whether it was installing the 32 or 64 bit versions. My laptop is 64 bit. I ended up with the 32 bit version installed on my 64 bit laptop. It is working fine. should I / can I install the 64 bit version and not lose the settings and programs I have installed.
Michael

wildmanne39
November 22nd, 2012, 06:03 AM
Hi, I recommend 64 bit but you would have to back up your important data and install 64 bit you can not just upgrade.
Thanks

LuisGMarine
November 22nd, 2012, 06:03 AM
As far as I know, you can't update your 32-bit Ubuntu to 64-bit Ubuntu without doing a fresh install. The simple answer is that things can get messy between 32-bit and 64-bit libraries.

If everything is working fine I would just leave it as is until you get better used to the system, and Ubuntu as a whole. Personally for the stuff that I do on my computer, I don't notice any huge performace gains from 32-bit Ubuntu as opposed to 64-bit Ubuntu. Again that will depend on what kind of tasks you are doing with your machine.

Then again I'm sure if you start a technical debate, people will each tell you different.

DuckHook
November 22nd, 2012, 10:23 AM
As far as I know, you can't update your 32-bit Ubuntu to 64-bit Ubuntu without doing a fresh install. The simple answer is that things can get messy between 32-bit and 64-bit libraries.