PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Remove windows from my computer and boot directly into Ubuntu?

MrNewie
November 20th, 2012, 12:13 AM
Hello & thanks in advance.
I am new to Ubuntu & Linux OS. I would like to learn more & managged to root through a lot of stuff to get this up & running on my laptop. I also read a troubleshoot to fix my broadband wireless card. Thanks to the person who gave the great step by step. I did not get your name but the fix worked & I am working wireless again:)..

I had flash backs to a basic program I wrote in the 6th grade. The last time I worked in a DOS system. I have been a faithful windows person. Until getting an I Phone & now have went to the other side.

I will use windows because I work the the federal goverment as a VA nurse. Love my job & we use all electronic medical records. I am the local non IT geek to help all the staff use various programs.

I would like to know if I need to remove windows from my computer. XP. I can not boot it any more after loading Ubuntu. Which is fine we have several computers. Can I get my computer to but directly to Ubuntu or do I have to go thru the selcetion process.

I wait for replies while I continue to read posts. Plz leave me any links, ideas or thoughts...Thanks.:guitar:

offgridguy
November 20th, 2012, 12:30 AM
Since you mention the selection process, i assume you have the grub menu.
It should boot auto. to ubuntu, after about a 10-15 sec. pause. Which you can
shorten.
I am surprised you don't also have the option for XP.

MrNewie
November 20th, 2012, 12:32 AM
Really I am very New & have no Idea what you are talking about

offgridguy
November 20th, 2012, 12:49 AM
The grub menu consists of several lines at the top of your screen, the first line,
normally highlighted has words to this effect
ubuntu with linux kernal 3.2 generic

Depending on how many operating systems you have they will be listed under
this , if windows xp is there it should show about 5 or6 lines down from the top