PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Upgrade minidlna package

Shutterstrom
November 18th, 2012, 06:24 PM
Hi, I've really tried to brows the web for help but I can't find any info that is helping me to complete my task.

What I would like to do is to upgrade minidlna on my ubuntu server 12.04 LTS. The current version installed is 1.0.21, and it came when I typed
sudo apt-get install minidlna.

But this is an old version of minidlna and the latest one is 1.0.25.

Question #1
Why does not Ubuntu upgrade to 1.0.25 version

Question #2
Is there a way for me to upgrade minidlna with
sudo apt-get update and
sudo apt-get upgrade If so, how can i make Ubuntu understand that tere is an update for minidlna?

Question #3
I also tried to install a .patch file for minidlna, but I don't know where the files are that I want to patch. Are these files that I want to patch on my server even though I used
sudo apt-get install minidlna

I guess you can tell that I'm quite new to Linux so please keep it as easy to understand as possible with good code examples and tips.

Thanks in advance!

raja.genupula
November 18th, 2012, 06:40 PM
Hi
Providing an upgrade to a specific software is not a big deal , though its not such easy thing . Anything you'd like to install can be fine if you satisfied all required dependencies with the specific versions requirements.

you can have your desired version for sure . get the version source package from its source site and you can install it manually .

But for manually installed packages/applications Ubuntu not going to provide any updates . so you are at your own risk .

Hope that helps.

Shutterstrom
November 18th, 2012, 09:28 PM
Hi
Providing an upgrade to a specific software is not a big deal , though its not such easy thing . Anything you'd like to install can be fine if you satisfied all required dependencies with the specific versions requirements.