PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Using MSdos, DosBox on ubunto



dougcumiskey123
November 18th, 2012, 04:55 PM
I have copys of the 4 MSdos disks on file for Dune and I would like to get it running again on Ubuntu, I also have DosBox which I have used to run "Dune" on windows and that works fine.

I have absolutly no idea where to start, can you help

Doug.

mlentink
November 18th, 2012, 05:08 PM
Fire up Ubuntu Software center, type dosbox in the search field and install...

Sunfist
November 18th, 2012, 08:17 PM
As previous poster has said, there is Linux version of DosBox available in the software center and once installed it works exactly like it does when run under windows.

dougcumiskey123
November 19th, 2012, 09:12 AM
Thank for the info, I have DosBox, that is not the problem, what I need to do is load the MSdos into Ubuntu possibley using DosBox?

Doug...

mlentink
November 19th, 2012, 09:15 AM
You don't need to. Dosbox contains DOS. Start it up, load your program and have fun.

Have a look here: http://www.dosbox.com/wiki/Main_Page

lisati
November 19th, 2012, 09:15 AM
*cough* you don't use DosBox to install MsDos, you use DosBox instead of MsDos

dougcumiskey123
November 19th, 2012, 01:48 PM
OK, I have been working with DosBox trying get to the dos files that I want to load, but have run into a basic snag!! the keyboard setting change when I am working with "DosBox" and my keyboard nolonger has the "~" so its impossible to progress.

Doug.

dougcumiskey123
November 19th, 2012, 02:01 PM
Please ignore the last message, I have found a way of changing the keyboard in DosBox.

Doug..