PDA

View Full Version : 12.04 Frustration. Where are my drives?

Engineeringtech
November 17th, 2012, 01:56 PM
I'm a novice Ubuntu user. Last machine I owned with Ubuntu, ran 9.04. That looked, and acted a lot like Windows.

I just installed Ubuntu 12.04LTS on another machine. VERY frustrating. Booted to a background picture with no icons, no application menus, no shutdown menu. Tried a hard restart. Still NOTHING! I finally right clicked the desktop, found system settings, and was able to pick a different display resolution. Now I could see the clock, speaker volume, and shutdown menu. But no pulldowns for applications, and no drive icons! Took me another hour before I realized I could shove my mouse cursor HARD left, (and I mean HARD), and something that looks like the "launcher" from old Mac Power PC's pops out. A few applications there, but no drives, terminal, user or administrative settings. Ubuntu 9.04 used to put drive partitions on the desktop. If I inserted a CD or DVD to be read, played, or burned it showed on the desktop. Ditto any thumb drive. Maybe I'm not smart enough to run Ubuntu!

Anyway, I can browse the internet, but as I said, no drive partitions, DVD writers, or thumb drives appear on the desktop, or in the "launcher". How do I get them on the desktop? (There appears to be no room in the launcher.)

I found a posting that said I could open the terminal, type "sudo lshw" and my password, to view installed hardware. I finally found the terminal by double clicking the "dash" icon, and searching for the terminal. I ran the command, and the internal hard drive and both DVD writers appear on the list. So they're there.

darkod
November 17th, 2012, 02:14 PM
Depending what disks/partitions do you expect to see. And earlier versions of ubuntu only showed usb sticks/hdds on the desktop, not the internal ones.