PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] DVD autoplay

TREESofRIGHTEOUSNESS
November 14th, 2012, 12:05 AM
Hi I was posting this because I think that there has to be a way to enable Autoplay (for DVDs) in Lxde. I have searched the Forums and found something, but there was no resolution. I searched askubuntu, and the Lxde forums, and the internet on a few different search engines.... to no avail.

I think that there has to be a way to edit some config file somewhere to make the popup window use the vlc CLI options to auto play. It would be nice to have a GUI like in Xfce4 where you can set up stuff. Actually a centralized GUI for settings is a great idea, but I am no programmer, yet...

So a big preemptive THANKS to all who can help!

joke444
November 14th, 2012, 01:51 AM
It`s my experience with LXDE distros that none will autoplay except for Mint LXDE, and actually that only opens the window of your designated dvd player, the movie will not start playing automatically. What I did to get around this is install Thunar which is the XFCE file manager which has the capability to autoplay any dvd You also have to install thunar-volman which might be in the xfce-goodies package. Not absolutely sure. Then you have to configure autoplay with thunar. This may not be what you want to do but it`s the best I can come up with. LXDE after all is no frills. Best of luck

TREESofRIGHTEOUSNESS
November 14th, 2012, 02:06 PM
Yeah I really dislike the current tabless version of Thunar, so I don't want to use it as default volume management. Autoplay isn't much of a frill I'd think, and besides Lxde is lightweight, not no frills. I have xcompmgr enabled in Lxde... that is more of a frill than automounting and opening a video player for a DVD. There has to be some config file or something that can be edited somewhere to add a line of code to make it work.

krackersk
November 15th, 2012, 07:23 AM
You could maybe use a udev rule?

Not sure how to do it though

TREESofRIGHTEOUSNESS