PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Adding an Additional HDD

Static1961
November 10th, 2012, 10:40 PM
I've got a new HP N40L that I'm wanting to use as a media server for Apple TV.

I've loaded Ubuntu 12.10 after giving up on trying to use Ubuntu server. When I set it up I had just one small drive in for the OS. I'm now wanting to add the 4 extra drives. I've started with one additional. I can see it via Dash Home / Disks but I don't know how to mount it for use.

I'm a complete novice on this stuff ... and whilst a number of (IT) people at work have said I should use Ubuntu I really struggling and thinking maybe I should just use Windows Home Server 2011. The other computers in our home are Mac's and Windows.

Thanks

drdos2006
November 10th, 2012, 11:13 PM
Once you have connected all the power and data cables, the disks need to be formatted. When the disks are formatted with ext3 or ext4 filesystem, then the disks recieve a Unique ID number ( for instance UUID=74ab1607-3998-4265-81b3-6cc936af422d ).

To mount each drive /etc/fstab needs to edited as root.
( for instance "sudo gedit /etc/fstab" )
Make a backup first. ( "sudo cp /etc/fstab /etc/fstab.backup" )

From a terminal, type "ls -l /dev/disk/by-uuid" to get the UUID of the drive. Highlight the UUID number, edit and paste the number into /etc/fstab. ( for instance, ## /dev/sdb1
UUID=74ab1607-3998-4265-81b3-6cc936af422d /media/sdb1 ext3 defaults 0 1

Save and close /etc/fstab. From the terminal type "sudo mkdir /media/sdb1" for the first drive, then mount the drive with "sudo mount -a".

Same for the other drives.

regards

Static1961
November 10th, 2012, 11:16 PM
How do I do it from the desktop ... not the terminal ?

(as it happens I'm in Manly ... Brisbane)

wildmanne39
November 11th, 2012, 01:05 AM
Thread moved to Installation & Upgrades.

oldfred
November 11th, 2012, 09:13 PM