PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Automatic execution of terminal commands at startup

Loerie
November 5th, 2012, 03:12 PM
Could someone please show an easy way to run terminal commands automatically during "start up"?

I know how to run terminal at start-up through "Startup Applications" but I am not technical enough to automate the running of terminal commands such as "sudo ....".

It could save a lot of hassle for beginner users.

The Cog
November 5th, 2012, 03:27 PM
What kind of comands do you want to run, and what kind of "startup"?

I see you want to do "sudo" commands. If you want these to run as the system boots (rather than when a users logs into the GUI) to do things such as setting firewall rules etc. then a common thing to do is to add a line calling the script to /etc/rc.local. /etc/rc.local is run as part of the system boot process. It will call the scripts with root's id so the script doesn't need to be called with sudo. But this also means that the scrip should be stored somewhere that only root can edit it, to prevent naughty users using it as a way to do things they shouldn't be able to.

If instead you are talking about running scripts as part of a user's login process then I'm not sure. It may be important to know which version of X/K/L/Ubuntu you are using.

darkod
November 5th, 2012, 03:52 PM
Also, if we are talking about one or two commands, of course you can add them directly in /etc/rc.local above the 'exit 0' line.

If there are more commands, it's better to put all of them in a file (script) and call that script in /etc/rc.local.

Loerie
November 7th, 2012, 06:33 PM
Thanks, folks. The version is Ubuntu 12.04-1
As mentioned, I am a user and not a technical expert.

I have added sudo iptables -L into the /etc/rc.local textfile using gedit but nothing happens after login.

The sudo iptables -L command is an example as there are other checks I would like to run after login from time to time.

darkod
November 7th, 2012, 08:00 PM