PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Uninstall win 7 on my dual boot system ubuntu 12.04

astraone
November 5th, 2012, 09:40 AM
Hello,

I have win 7 on my dual boot system along with ubuntu 12.04 the ssd drive is partioned,please could someone advise /link me to thread on how to uninstall win 7 from my system

I am fairly new to Linux but like it a lot

David

Al Stat
November 5th, 2012, 10:04 AM
Is there only one hardware data storage device (your SSD)? Or there are other HDD/SSD?

You need to search for:

1) How to install Grub on disk (hardware one) containing your Linux installation. Probably Grub is already on it. http://askubuntu.com/questions/30341/how-to-know-the-partition-where-grub-is-installed
If it is not - then you need to use "grub-install" command to install Grub on disk (hardware one) containing your Linux.

2) How to with GParted delete partition with unwanted operating system.

3) How to expand existent partitions and use space to be freed.

4) Launch "sudo update-grub".

Pay attention:

On what partition is located "/boot/grub/grub.cfg".

On file "/etc/fstab". In case of partitions resise may be changed partition's UUIDs. Use separately Gparted (or "sudo fdisk -l") and command "ls -l /dev/disk/*" to investigate partition's UUIDs. Correct values in "/etc/fstab".

Good tool is http://partedmagic.com/doku.php?id=start
It allows you to boot from independent data storage (CD, flash drive, etc.) and organise your computer's internal data storages.

Before you start - do backup of any valuable data. Create this backup on external storages, on storages NOT to be used or accessed while you will be working on your computer.

varunendra
November 7th, 2012, 12:18 PM
Hi astraone, Welcome to the forums !

I have win 7 on my dual boot system along with ubuntu 12.04 the ssd drive is partioned,please could someone advise /link me to thread on how to uninstall win 7 from my system