PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] apt-get remove throws package contains empty filename

jinchuriki
November 4th, 2012, 03:53 PM
Hi guys,

Newbie here just started using Ubuntu 11.10 this year. For some reason after trying to install zoneminder a few things stopped working eg. encountered gdm loop issue. I was able to fix it by creating a new user account and slowly move my settings from previous user to the new account.

I encounter a new issue today when trying to re-enable vino. Been searching the forum and following some instructions but unfortunately all to no avail. This thread http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1861707&page=4 suggests to reinstall vino.

When trying to remove vino:-

user@machine:~/.gconf/desktop/gnome/remote_access$ sudo apt-get remove vino
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following packages will be REMOVED:
vino
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 1 to remove and 1320 not upgraded.
After this operation, 565 kB disk space will be freed.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? Y
(Reading database ...
dpkg: warning: files list file for package `linux-headers-generic' missing, assuming package has no files currently installed.

dpkg: warning: files list file for package `linux-headers-3.0.0-24-generic' missing, assuming package has no files currently installed.

dpkg: warning: files list file for package `linux-libc-dev' missing, assuming package has no files currently installed.
(Reading database ... 95%dpkg: unrecoverable fatal error, aborting:
files list file for package `icedtea-plugin' contains empty filename
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (2)

Also tried:-

apt-get clean all
dpkg --configure -a
apt-get remove icedtea-plugin

but all doesn't work.

Can someone shed some light please..

Thanks.

dino99
November 4th, 2012, 04:16 PM