PDA

View Full Version : DB design question

chipppy
November 3rd, 2012, 12:48 AM
Good Morning

Link to previous journey post click here (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2074752&page=2)
I am trying to design an application that uses a SQL database, Java via Java EE. I have never worked with Databases before.
Do I design the Database first, last, or as I go?
Also do I build the database at the same stage of coding (eg design last, code last)

Sounds like a strange question.
To better explain. When I normal build my silly little kids games, my designing go something like
Animate Image
Get images from Array
Do animation
I don’t worry about the actual array design until I actually get into the coding phase.
A database is a different (and unknown to me anyway) beast. This is why I ask when do I design the database.

Cheers
Chipppy

KdotJ
November 3rd, 2012, 03:01 AM
I think it would be a good idea to have a think about what data you are going to store in the database. From this you can start thinking about the database design. Doing this well can actually save you a lot of Java code and handle data integrity for you.

If it was me, I would do the db first. But it's common to have to change the database structure as you develop your application.

But it really does depend on what you're putting in there and what role it plays in the app.

oldfred
November 3rd, 2012, 05:00 AM
Your database will be different than the spreadsheets. Where in a spreadsheet you have a customer name listed many times possibly with spelling errors so they are not all correct. In a data base the customer info is only in one place usually a separate customer table. And that may not be just one table, but you can overdo normalization.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Database_normalization

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Codd%27s_12_rules

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/41233/java-and-sqlite