PDA

View Full Version : Console width - text wrapping

ironfistchamp
July 2nd, 2006, 08:51 PM
I am writing a C++ program. I am totally new to the language. I output a paragraph of text and it looks stupid when it splits a word in half to get it on the next line. Is there something I can do about that within the program to make the text wrap?

Thanks

Ironfistchamp

Max Luebbe
July 2nd, 2006, 11:43 PM
You've either got to assume how long the console is, and write a function that keeps track of how many characters are outputted per line, and given the length of next word to be outputted, and how many characters are left are in the line.

Or.

Check out the Curses library.
It's a solid way for doing console formatting in C.

Hope this helps.

psychicdragon
July 3rd, 2006, 01:36 AM
A standard VT100 terminal is 80 characters wide, 24 lines long. Those are the default dimensions used by terminal applications like gnome-terminal and others.

LordHunter317
July 3rd, 2006, 03:34 AM
Actually no, you pay attention to COLUMNS and fall back to that, or look up the terminal data and use that (being far perferable to just asusming).

ynef
July 3rd, 2006, 07:13 AM
COLUMNS isn't always there (not all distributions support it), so what you really should do is follow the steps outlined here: http://julipedia.blogspot.com/2005/03/how-to-get-window-size.html

LordHunter317
July 3rd, 2006, 02:54 PM
COLUMNS is an environment variable, so of course it's not always there (that goes without saying). Hence my note about looking up terminal data if it's not there.

I wasn't aware that was available at all outside of X, at any rate, one should still obey COLUMNS if it is there, because the user may be intentionally overriding the size of his terminal.

ironfistchamp
July 3rd, 2006, 04:09 PM
Thanks for the replies. Seems a litte too complicated for me at the present time. I think I shall wait until I am a little less green.

Thanks

Ironfistchamp

Horsman
July 3rd, 2006, 04:27 PM