PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Hard drive issues Ubuntu 12.04.1 LTS

Mr SMS
October 31st, 2012, 04:08 AM
Hi,

I'm completely new to Ubuntu, and I have a question concerning hard drives.

My internal hard drive is badly damaged and will not operate correctly. Will I require an internal hard drive, or will the external hard drive plugged into my computer suffice for installing Ubuntu?

zeroseven0183
October 31st, 2012, 04:19 AM
Yes, it's possible to install Ubuntu on an external hard drive (see documentation for Installation https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation#Installing_on_external_or_RAID_hard_d isks), although I would prefer getting an internal hard drive instead especially if you're using a laptop.

Mr SMS
October 31st, 2012, 04:43 AM
Thank you for the link, but unfortunately, I do not understand what I'm supposed to do here. I followed the instructs for properly downloading Ubuntu to my external hard drive, but the computer wont load from it, instead it tries to load from the internal hard drive, which is damaged, prompting the computer to say

"Insert proper boot media".

Plus the instructions appear to be for Macs. The only other OS I've used up until now is Windows

I put in my Ubuntu disk and it loads the trial version of Ubuntu fine (all preferences are deleted when the computer is shut down).

So I'm not sure what I should do from here.

I think the external hard drive is missing the "grub" or something that tells my laptop to look in the external as opposed to the broken internal.

oldfred
October 31st, 2012, 04:59 AM
If you have installed to your external download Boot-Repair and run the BootInfo report.

If still installing these have instructions. Differences in versions are minor. But for an external or second drive you need to use manual install to bet the choice on where to install the grub2 boot loader. You want the boot loader in the MBR of the external drive. (unless you have a new UEFI system.)