PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] grub rescue

Anoop Jose
October 30th, 2012, 01:20 PM
Hi,

I am using a Lenovo Ideapad Z520. its has got a HDD of 640. It was pre loaded with Windows 7 Home premium. Initially i installed Ubuntu ultimate 3.0 along with windows 7 using approximately 150 GB. since i found its difficult to use i installed Ubuntu 12.04LTS over that and reduced the space to 100GB. Even after that system was functioning properly and i upgraded the Ubuntu 12.04LTS to GNOME 3. And i used the windows partition manager to use the free 50 GB. after that when i restarted the system an error comes stating that 'PARTITION NOT FOUND' 'GRUB RESCUE' .

When i tried to reinstall the Ubuntu its doesnt show any of my partition. hence i didnt do it again. i dnt have a windows rescue CD. Now i boot from Live usb. What am i supposed to do now? I am a beginner in Ubuntu. i have a preloaded recovery partition in HDD but i am afraid of using it because all my data are saved in Home folder of Windows. Pls advice me what to do next. Is it possible to save both operating system without reinstalling both?

dino99
October 30th, 2012, 02:35 PM
oops, erased per darkod comment

Anoop Jose
October 30th, 2012, 03:07 PM
Thanks dino.

but it ddnt wokout. when i tried gparted it says no partitions found
pls see attachment .. also m a beginner with ubuntu

darkod
October 30th, 2012, 03:10 PM
Dino, that command doesn't work like that from live mode. Please be careful and don't give wrong advice. It's not the first time.

Anoop, it seems the windows partition manager messed up the partition table. You have to be very careful when changing partitions.

Boot the ubuntu cd in live mode, open terminal and post the output of:
sudo parted -l (small L)

Lets see what that gives you.

Anoop Jose
October 30th, 2012, 03:24 PM
Thanks darkod
this is how it comes

darkod
October 30th, 2012, 03:29 PM
This is only a usb stick, it can't see the hdd at all, any partitions on it.