PDA

View Full Version : total mess with gcc and g++

thedardanius
October 29th, 2012, 04:23 PM
ok, so Im a windows C++ programmer.
Now i create a linux program and I downloaded codeblocks and gcc compiler(which was already installed). THe problem now is:
I tried to compile the code generated by the compiler itself (demo code for opengl apps) but it said that it missed header. So i looked in the standard directory (usr/local/include/) and i didnt found ANYTHING! what do you call that. IŽnever heard of a compiler coming without standard headers/libraries. So now im totally confused.

I;m new to linux and the programming, the working the makefiles...is there any tutorial on basic gcc/g++ and which sdk should I download? Ive already downloded xlib11 dev, but where is stdio? PLEASE help me out of this turmoil.

thedardanius
October 29th, 2012, 04:25 PM
where are the standard opengl headers/libs???
what is a .so? Im not familiar with linux terms../

Majorix
October 29th, 2012, 04:26 PM
This should install what you need:

sudo apt-get install build-essential

EDIT: This was in reply to your first post.

MG&TL
October 29th, 2012, 04:35 PM
Not going to flame here; but windows and linux compilers are totally different. I'd suggest getting used to that fast. :)

Generated by the compiler itself-what? You mean code-blocks generated code?

OpenGL apps- Oh lordy. How much do you know about OpenGL, and do you know whether you want to program with or without the extensions and 3.x features like shaders? Btw OpenGL is not a standard library (and I doubt it is on windows either)

General info:

-Linux has several (default) include paths. You're only looking in one. Just including <stdio.h> should work great.

-Don't download SDKs unless you need to. Use APT to install *-dev packages. Examples include libgl1-mesa-dev (the Mesa OpenGL headers), libgtk-3-dev (GTK+ 3.x development headers)....you get the point. This ain't windows. :)

Hints: