PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Windows not working after upgrade to 12.10

TigerFr
October 28th, 2012, 11:54 AM
Hello,

I have been using Ubuntu for several years with the dual boot on my computer. And today Windows 7 is not booting anymore after the upgrade to Ubuntu 12.10. It displays the "A disk read error has occured" message just after selecting it in Grub.

Boot-repair generates this report : http://paste.ubuntu.com/1311907/

Can someone help me ? Many thanks.

MM

Sadi58
October 28th, 2012, 01:57 PM
I have also encountered various dual-boot problems with Windows 7 and Ubuntu 12.04/12.10.
When Windows failed to boot properly, I used Windows Rescue Disk.
When Ubuntu failed to boot properly, I used the Plop Boot Manager and then simply re-installed grub.
I hope this can be helpful for you as well.

mag1strate
October 28th, 2012, 05:23 PM
Does win7 work when chosen from the boot menu of your BIOS?

TigerFr
October 28th, 2012, 06:47 PM
@Sadi58 : I don't have any Windows CD or DVD as I have a recovery partition.

@mag1strate : I can't boot with my BIOS as it only provides me the choice between different drives when I press F12.

Thank you anyway.

darkod
October 28th, 2012, 06:51 PM
I don't see anything wrong in the bootinfo details, only that the win7 entry has some reference to ldm which I haven't seen before. But maybe that's how 12.10 works. I use 12.04 because it's LTS.

You can try this:
Boot the computer and at the grub menu hit 'c' for a command line. At the command prompt execute one by one:

insmod part_msdos
insmod ntfs
set root=(hd0,3)
chainloader +1
boot

See if that boots win7.

TigerFr
October 28th, 2012, 07:16 PM
I don't see anything wrong in the bootinfo details, only that the win7 entry has some reference to ldm which I haven't seen before. But maybe that's how 12.10 works. I use 12.04 because it's LTS.

You can try this:
Boot the computer and at the grub menu hit 'c' for a command line. At the command prompt execute one by one: