PDA

View Full Version : Gimp vs Photoshop Just a curious question

MikePnKY
July 2nd, 2006, 12:52 PM
Personally, I like Gimp, it does everything that I need. Now granted, I'm not a graphics designer and I don't do graphics for a living, but I will take roughly 3000 photographs a year as a hobby.

I was just wondering if, by any chance. Has anyone dedicated any study to finding out just what additional features that photoshop has are actually used??

I've not researched it myself either, but I'd feel safe to wager that Gimp will do everything that 80% of the people will do 90% of the time. Any input?

NeghVar
July 2nd, 2006, 01:05 PM
The Interface, when I am working in Photoshop it is all in one nice window... In gimp its like someone said who cares about the user lets make this look and feel as absolutly ridiculous as possible... They suceeded.

B0rsuk
July 2nd, 2006, 01:10 PM
The Interface, when I am working in Photoshop it is all in one nice window... In gimp its like someone said who cares about the user lets make this look and feel as absolutly ridiculous as possible... They suceeded.

I stopped using Photoshop, because I couldn't stand the interface.
I started using Linux several years ago, when I saw the GIMP. I would dual boot into it just to play with GIMP.

FISHERMAN
July 2nd, 2006, 01:10 PM
I was just wondering if, by any chance. Has anyone dedicated any study to finding out just what additional features that photoshop has are actually used??
I'm pretty sure that the most, if not all, home users with their (usealy illegal) copy of Photoshop don't use the extra features. They're only used by trained professionals.

But Photoshop is a "cool"/well-know brand, so it's popular. Just like SUV's/Off-Road vehicles are popular vehicles for climbing speed bumps in an Urban Environment.

Jucato
July 2nd, 2006, 01:16 PM