PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] Lubuntu installation freeze?

JackDooner
October 22nd, 2012, 11:21 PM
hi all, i'm new to the whole Ubuntu/ Lubuntu OS.

I have an old dell laptop so i decided to install ubuntu on it. I then ran in to graphics card problems and it would boot to the desktop sometimes but overall didn't work well. So i decided to go for Libuntu. But when I am installing, and it reaches the point where it has the small check-list (Wireless connection, 4.4gb free etc etc...), the installation never seems to progress.

It is staying on the screen PREPARING TO INSTALL LUBUNTU with the little check list and nothing happens. The CD drive comes to a hault and the cursor becomes a spinning circle.

It's been like that for around 45-50 mins. I've tried restarting the installation but same problem over and over.

Please, any help is really appreciated :)

Thank you.
Jack

Rex Bouwense
October 23rd, 2012, 12:16 AM
Two things right off the bat. First did you do an md5sum on your download? Second did you burn the ISO at the slowest possible speed? I have found that most installation problems can be traced to one of those.
The next question I would ask is how much RAM do you have installed? While Lubuntu is very light, it still requires in excess of 256 Mbs to install. I have installed Lubuntu 12.04 on an old Dell Inspiron 1000. I did add 256 more Mbs so it has 512 and it runs Lubuntu very smoothly. The only thing I had to do was install the broadcom driver for the WIFI.

~jx
October 25th, 2012, 12:37 PM
I had a similar problem when I tried to install Lubuntu yesterday but when I deleted two old ext4 partitions (by using gparted), I was able to continue through the following steps. Hope it helps

Excuse my poor English.

akshatk
December 23rd, 2012, 06:58 PM
hi,

m facing same issue while trying to install lubuntu 12.10.

m using a cd, i checked its mdsum, burnt it with lowest rate, also checked the cd via "check disc for errors".