PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] screen turns blank after login ubuntu 12.10

zeemokid
October 19th, 2012, 11:02 AM
After i did an update in ubuntu 12.10, i rebooted my computer and after logging in at the login screen, there was only the default background and the mouse with no dock or anything else and i couldn't do anything else. Sorry guys. I'm a beginner and really need help.

2F4U
October 19th, 2012, 04:00 PM
Provide more information about your hardware, graphics card and graphics driver. When you say update, do you mean an upgrade from a previous version such as 12.04, or do you mean that you only updated some packages?

safarin
October 19th, 2012, 04:50 PM
After i did an update in ubuntu 12.10, i rebooted my computer and after logging in at the login screen, there was only the default background and the mouse with no dock or anything else and i couldn't do anything else. Sorry guys. I'm a beginner and really need help.

I think your unity-panel is failed to start up... can you pop-up your terminal by press Ctrl+Alt+T???

then try to type
unity

ricardisimo
October 19th, 2012, 11:03 PM
Same problem for me, already reported (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2073192). I selected gdm as my default login, rather than lightdm. I think that's at the heart of the problem. Can only seem to get into recovery mode by pressing SHIFT during boot up. Any clues?

zeemokid
October 21st, 2012, 09:39 AM
alright guys thanks. i've solved the problem. apparently i made some changed to my graphics driver and that screwed it up. either way, thanks for taking your time to help me with my problem. :)

pantherace
October 21st, 2012, 12:42 PM
alright guys thanks. i've solved the problem. apparently i made some changed to my graphics driver and that screwed it up. either way, thanks for taking your time to help me with my problem. :)