PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 12.10 dual display not working

Lukens
October 19th, 2012, 06:40 AM
Hello, Im trying to get my dual displays to work, and im not having any luck. Ive searched the forums and googled away, but havent found anything close to what im trying to fix.

I have a laptop and an external monitor, an Acer x193w. It works great with my windows installation, but not my Ubuntu.

When I try to activate my second monitor, it spouts an error message:

The selected configuration for displays could not be applied
required virtual size does not fit available size: requested=(2720, 900), minimum=(320, 200), maximum=(1600, 1600)

And then

failed to apply configuration:%s
GDBus.Error:org.gtk.GDBus.UnmappedGError.Quark._gn ome_2drr_2derror_2dquark.Code3: required virtual size does not fit available size: requested=(2720, 900), minimum=(320, 200), maximum=(1600, 1600)

I cant make heads or tails of these error codes. Im still pretty new to Ubuntu, so forgive me if its something trivial.

Anyone have any ideas? Id love to be able to use my Ubuntu with dual monitors. Its killing me to go back to one.

amaz1ng
October 28th, 2012, 06:18 AM
Hey Lukens, I'm in the same boat as you. I've heard people suggest all kinds of solutions, but I haven't had any luck with them. As for the error codes, I'd suggest taking a quick peek at my screenshot here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2076972&highlight=dual+monitors

RandR is a little tool which helps you visualize where your monitors are placed in regards to where you're allowed to place them. You might try looking at that, if only to get a small idea of what those error codes are saying!

keelzebub
October 31st, 2012, 05:23 PM
Try setting the virtual screen size in /etc/X11/xorg.conf by adding the following lines inside of the "screen" section (if you have a "display" section already, just add the "Virtual" line):

Subsection "Display"
Virtual 4096 4096
EndSubsection