PDA

View Full Version : What do the M and m symbols mean in this piece of music?

kevdog
October 16th, 2012, 02:54 AM
Hey I'm just getting into playing the piano. Yes I'm a beginner but its really fun. I'm enjoying learning a bunch a different scales and putting them together.

I'm not so good at reading music, but I'm improving. I ran into this piece of music on the internet which wasn't overly hard for my level, however I can't figure out what the M and m mean. I guessing it has something to do with playing an octave higher or lower, or possibly with the pedal? I've looked around the internet, but can't find squat. I'd appreciate any insight someone may have here. Thanks.

wojox
October 16th, 2012, 02:58 AM
Major and minor (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Major_and_minor)

kevdog
October 16th, 2012, 03:06 AM
Ok Major and Minor -- what's the point of putting them on the sheet? Like the chord notation of the Eb major and Fm on the top wouldn't suffice? I'm just asking.

wojox
October 16th, 2012, 03:39 AM
Sorry kev, didn't look at the picture. Been awhile since piano. Nightwishfan would have known.
Does that piece come in Guitar tablature :lolflag:

grahammechanical
October 16th, 2012, 12:47 PM
I would guess that sheet music like that is written for more than one instrument. So, it has useful information for more than one type of musician.

oldos2er
October 16th, 2012, 08:18 PM
I ran into this piece of music on the internet which wasn't overly hard for my level, however I can't figure out what the M and m mean.

I think M = mute, not sure what the lower case m is. Printed material should have the notations defined somewhere. As far as I know there's no standard definitions for these things.

drmrgd
October 16th, 2012, 08:25 PM