PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Java GUI w/ Dynamic Content

kevinharper
October 14th, 2012, 04:46 AM
First time really creating a GUI on my own and I'm excited. It took me most of the day to read tutorials and get something somewhat created. I will post the code and then a few questions. I am also fairly new to Object-oriented programming.

import javax.swing.*;
import java.awt.*;
import java.awt.event.*;

public class FrontEnd {
/**
* Generate & Display GUI.
*/
private static void GUI() {
//window
JFrame window = new JFrame("Kevin Harper's CSV Reader");
window.setDefaultCloseOperation(JFrame.EXIT_ON_CLO SE);
window.setSize(1100, 650);
window.setResizable(false);

JPanel panel = new JPanel();
window.getContentPane().add(panel);

panel.setLayout(null);

//TOP (open button, save button, & search)
JButton openButton = new JButton("Open CSV File");
openButton.setBounds(1,1,150,20);
openButton.addActionListener(new ActionListener() {
public void actionPerformed(ActionEvent event) {
System.exit(0);
}
});

JButton saveButton = new JButton("Save Search Results");
saveButton.setBounds(157,1,200,20);
saveButton.addActionListener(new ActionListener() {
System.exit(0);
}
});

final JTextField searchField = new JTextField("Search ID or Description", 250);
/***
* Code for clearing searchField on focus and replacing text when
* not in focus taken from:
* http://stackoverflow.com/questions/5382436/text-box-cleared-when-receives-focus
**/
searchField.addFocusListener(new FocusListener() {
@Override
public void focusLost(FocusEvent arg0) {
searchField.setText("Search ID or Description");
}
@Override
public void focusGained(FocusEvent arg0) {
// TODO Auto-generated method stub
searchField.setText("");
}
});

searchField.setBounds(738, 1, 250, 20);

JButton searchButton = new JButton("Search");
searchButton.setBounds(989,1,100,20);
searchButton.addActionListener(new ActionListener() {
System.exit(0);
}
});

//MIDDLE (data table)