PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unable to install from iso

mavazz
October 13th, 2012, 10:37 PM
Hello,

I have a long story I'd like to tell which may offer some clues as to why I'm having these problems.

I recently bought a new computer from System76. They come pre-installed with Ubuntu. I've been running Ubuntu for 3 years now and don't have any need for Windows.

When the computer arrived Ubuntu started up no problem. But before I migrated all of my important documents from my backup of my old computer I decided to try another Linux Distro.

I downloaded Linux Mint 64 bit. Seeing as how I have a brand new computer I figured it could handle 64 Bit. As of now I still don't know if that caused any sort of problem. Anywho, I downloaded LinuxMint 64 bit and attempted to install it from a USB pendrive. To be clear, I followed the instructions and converted the iso using the startup disk creator. I've done this many times before so I'm not new to it. I will say, however, that I've always had more luck with CD's than USB drives.

Anyways, Linux Mint didn't even get the installer running. So, I decided to download the alternate installer for Ubuntu so that I could get FDE set up. I downloaded it, converted it for USB installation and the installation part was up and running without problems.

I meticulously followed the instructions I read online for setting up FDE. I finished the installation process, rebooted, but then things froze at an error. It was something to do with no video detected. But everything I read online said that it was a common error. However, for everybody else the error would last about 10 seconds, then proceed to boot up. It was an error that was supposedly easing fixed by giving some commands in the terminal. But I could never reach the terminal.