PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Removing non required applications/drivers from a new Ubuntu desktop installation

himoundary
October 11th, 2012, 03:20 PM
Hi,

I'm need to set up an Ubuntu box to function primarily as a testing server. However I'd like it to have a very very basic Desktop/Windowing system.

Now, I am very new to Linux.

So, I am thinking of doing this: I install the the latest Ubuntu desktop version and then remove all packages/applications/etc from it that I don't need. This would include
- Drivers like sound driver, printer driver, etc etc
- Applications like media players, office suites etc etc

Basically the only things I need are a browser, a text editor, and a terminal application. I want to remove everything else, as the Ubuntu box will run inside a VMWare virtual machine inside my main Windows machine (which I can't change at the moment because I run applications which depend on Windows). So I want this to consume as little processor/RAM/disk space as possible.

Is there an easy way to do this, without breaking any dependencies etc?

Also, would the opposite approach of installing a Ubuntu server, and then adding a desktop environment be better? I tried doing that but the results weren't so good.

Finally, if someone knows about this (not very important):
I intend to use this with VMWare Unity mode (which has nothing to do with Ubuntu's Unity shell), and I believe it needs either KDE or Gnome to work (and works on Ubuntu's unity too). Does someone know if I can use any lighter desktop environments instead of GNOME/KDE/Ubuntu Unity that still support the VMWare Unity feature?

Don't bother about answering the whole question if you can't; just answer the parts you can.

Thanks!

wildmanne39
October 11th, 2012, 03:33 PM
Hi, you should do a server or minimal install it is much easier and safer then removing packages that are already installed.
Thanks

himoundary
October 11th, 2012, 03:48 PM