PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] HELP! /home is not present or is not ready

Nodin092004
October 11th, 2012, 05:29 AM
I'm still very new with Ubuntu and I'm afraid I may have permanently damaged my /home partition. I appreciate any and all advice, but please provide clear, detailed instructions for me to follow.

I have 12.04, the only OS on my Sony VAIO. It started with messages that my /boot partition was getting low (~250MB left), my computer shutting down randomly, acting very laggy, and that there were some serious damage to my hard drive: >100 bad sectors according to Disk Utility which I then fixed and brought down to (currently but keeps on climbing higher) 8. So I decided to expand /boot from ~7.5GB to 10GB by reallocating 2.5GB from /home to the /boot partition using GParted.

This is where my first problem came in: although I successfully created 2.5GB of unallocated space from the /home (sda7) partition, it always ended up on the RIGHT side of /home instead of the LEFT side next to the /boot (sda6) partition. I kept trying to move /home to the RIGHT of the 2.5GB of unallocated space but each time GParted gave me an error message half-way through and could not complete the task. So, I tried to move /boot up against /home by moving it RIGHT to hopefully get it closer, but I couldn't get it "close enough" to /home to switch with it to get next to the unallocated space (I apologize if this sounds very rudimentary but again I'm very new to this and have only been following the advice of other forum posts) because a few megabytes of space always separated it from the /home partition. So, as a final shot, I tried to move /home LEFT so it's closer to /boot and could perhaps swap it that way - GParted was about half-way through the task when an error message appeared like before, except now this time a serious warning appeared where there was none before: Unable to detect file system! (See the screenshot attached for the GParted breakdown.)