PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] RAM issues with MSI netbook

notfred87
October 7th, 2012, 04:35 PM
Ill start by saying that this is my first day with linux...so definitely as new as it gets!

Installed Ubuntu on a MSI U100 Netbook. I logged in and it is only recognizing just over 400 mb of ram. I have 1.5 GB installed. It is a 32bit version of Ubuntu, any ideas on how to fix it?

It has an Intel® Atom™ N270 1.6GHz processor. Mobile Intel(R) [9]45 Express Chipset. 1 GB of RAM is built into the mother board. I looked at the details in the settings and it isn't seeing my RAM or my video card driver...

Any help would be great! I am really really tired of Windows. I want this to work so I can completely be rid of Windows! (its a second computer, first one is a mac for work and other important tasks)

P.S. Please remember I am completely new to linux. Don't confuse me. ;)

P.P.S. Sorry if there is another thread that answers this problem; I searched through other threads but didn't see anything that answered my problem (that I understood). Let me know if this should be moved. Thanks!

Old_Grey_Wolf
October 7th, 2012, 05:09 PM
Open a terminal and enter the command

free
Paste the output of the command back here in the thread.

mips
October 7th, 2012, 05:56 PM
Also post the output of sudo dmidecode --type memory while you are at it.

Old_Grey_Wolf
October 7th, 2012, 07:13 PM
mips, I was thinking possibly miss-matched RAM myself. ;)

notfred87
October 8th, 2012, 12:03 PM
Thanks for the quick replies! My keyboard is frozen (long story; Manufacturer patch went wrong) so I can't boot into linux. The first option on the boot screen is xp. Since I can't use my keyboard it defaults after a couple seconds to xp. While that is being repaired, do you think a USB keyboard might get around this? My USB mouse does work when booted.*

newb85
October 8th, 2012, 12:18 PM
I would expect a USB keyboard to do the trick.