PDA

View Full Version : DSL on USB at School

rowanparker
June 30th, 2006, 05:53 PM
Hello,
I have put Damn Small Linux on my USB stick (Ubuntu wouldn't fit :() and today I booted it up at school and it worked fine, apart from the internet. Our school uses Windows and RM.

I told me teacher what I was doing and he gave me some infomation:

DNS: abcdefghijkl.mnopqr
IP: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
Subnet: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
Default: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
He said something about pinging and using that infomation to get the internet in DSL.

Can I get on the internet this way?
If so, how?

Thanks, Rowan.

P.S. I have been given permission to do this so it is not illegal at all.

PapaWiskas
June 30th, 2006, 06:22 PM
If I were you, I would edit my post.
Just because I am an admin myself and just out of habit would not want that information for the whole world to see.
Its just good security practice is all, not that anyone could do anything with the information in the first place.

Maybe change it to this?

DNS: abcderfg.hijklmno
IP: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
Subnet: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
Default: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx / xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

You should be able to input that information into your network config file on DSL, save it, and that should do it.

rowanparker
June 30th, 2006, 06:30 PM
I edited it now, thanks.

Where is the config file as I've never set up a network in Linux, its always been done for me (cos Linux is so good)?

Do you know what he was on about the pinging? he said something about finding a free address or something like that.

Thanks, Rowan.

PapaWiskas
June 30th, 2006, 07:16 PM
I think you would need to add the static IP information to the /opt/bootlocal.sh file. This file is backed up in the /home/dsl/.filetool.lst file by default. For this step you will need to know the static IP, Default Gateway and DNS nameserver. With this information your /opt/bootlocal.sh file should have the following entries.

ifconfig eth0 xxx.xxx.x.xx
route add default gw xxx.xxx.x.x