PDA

View Full Version : Questions about Ubunut

amboxer21
September 22nd, 2012, 02:56 AM
I want to ask some of the senior members a question. I am a member of a forum that for some reason, swears Ubuntu is trash. They are recommending all new users to use Crunchbang instead. I think Ubuntu is the best distro for a beginner. They say Ubuntu is bloated, Unity sucks, there is a low learning curve and Gnome 3 is garbage.

I have been using Linux for 4 years. I program in a few languages and do everything on the command line with Awk and Sed. So, their arguments about low learning curve is bullcrap! I have used Arch Linux too and for some reason I keep coming back to Ubuntu or a variant like Lubuntu(Which I am using now).

So the question is how do you feel about Ubuntu? What are your opinions/thoughts/insight on what i have said.

StinkySQL
September 22nd, 2012, 03:01 AM
I'm not a senior, but as a Windows user up until last week I'd say this Ubuntu is very easy to learn and use.

cariboo
September 22nd, 2012, 04:25 AM
Actually there is a saying on the Debian forums "XXXXXXX is for those that can't figure out Debian." Replace the X's with your Ubuntu or Debian derivative of choice.

Personally I use both Ubuntu and Debian. I started using Linux in 1998, and have used RedHat, Mandrake, Xandros, PCLOS, Mepis, Debian and Ubuntu. I've tried most of the others, but none really seemed to fit my way of doing things.

PaulInBHC
September 22nd, 2012, 04:32 AM
Ubunut

I like that. I suggest a name change.

BlinkinCat
September 22nd, 2012, 04:35 AM
Ubunut

I like that. I suggest a name change.

And all users could be known as Ubunutters - :guitar:

vasa1
September 22nd, 2012, 04:40 AM
I have been using Linux for 4 years. I program in a few languages and do everything on the command line with Awk and Sed. ...

So the question is how do you feel about Ubuntu? What are your opinions/thoughts/insight on what i have said.