PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing .Deb Package

Mitch12
September 13th, 2012, 10:11 AM
I am a newbie to ubuntu and have problems installing a package which I have downloaded. The package is called Google-Secure-Data-Connector. When I click on the downloaded package it starts to install through ubuntu software centre, reaches 100% then stops with this error;

Reading database ... 179262 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to replace google-secure-data-connector 1.2-0 (using .../google-secure-data-connector_1.2.2-0_all.deb) ...
Unpacking replacement google-secure-data-connector ...
google-secure-data-connector --- package name
Setting up google-secure-data-connector (1.2-0) ...
Checking for Java...
dpkg: error processing google-secure-data-connector (--install):
subprocess installed post-installation script returned error exit status 1
Processing triggers for ureadahead ...
Errors were encountered while processing:
google-secure-data-connector

Not sure what this means?

shreepads
September 13th, 2012, 11:15 AM
Stupid question, do you have Java installed?

mips
September 13th, 2012, 11:20 AM
Requirements are:
Java JDK 1.6 or later
Ant 1.7 (Ant includes jUnit 4.4)

So install JDK & Ant first and then try again, these packages are in the repos.

NikTh
September 13th, 2012, 11:24 AM
Hi ,
nobody is absolutely sure what this error means. It can means a lot.

subprocess installed post-installation script returned error exit status 1but based on the output
Checking for Java... maybe java required to install this package. I mean java from Oracle. I am not sure though.
Can you give the link to the .deb package ?

Another way to install a .deb package is to download it and install it via dpkg (package manager) from terminal.

When you click download (DO NOT choose to Open With) click on SAVE file. File will be saved in Downloads.
Then open a terminal (Ctrl+Alt+t combo keys) and give this commands

cd Downloads